September, 1994 : NRIPO foundation .
Mr. Narayan L. Abhyankar becomes the founder Chairman
September 1996 : Mr. Madhav H. Paranjape succeeds Mr. N. L. Abhyankar as President
December 2007 : Mr. Kumar Kiwalkar succeeds Mr. Madhav Paranjape as President
February 2009 : Mr. Nandkumar Swadi takes over the reins of NRIPO as President upon the demise of Mr. Kiwalkar.
January 2014 Mr. Rameshchandra Citnis elected as President
Mr. N. L. Abhyankar leaves for his heavenly abode on 20th August, 2007
NRIPO Executive Committee decides to perpetuate the fond memory of its founder father Late Mr. N. L. Abhyankar by giving an award to an individual or an institution that has done outstanding work for the benefit of Senior Citizens and accordingly forms a separate corpus by collecting donations from its members and confers ‘Abhyankar Award’ every year beginning 2007 -2008.
  First Seven recipients include :

Mr. Rajabhau Mate for his yeoman effort in resurrecting NIWARA Old Age Home, in Pune City and his creation of another
similar facility ‘GANGA JAMUNA’.
Dr. Sharadchandra Gokhale for his outstanding contribution in the International Longevity Centre which works to serve the cause
of senior citizens.
Mr. Pralhad Gole, President, Sangam Sarvajanik Vridhashram for successfully establishing and managing the affairs of the facility for assisted living for senior citizens at affordable rates, at Kharadi,Pune.
Ms. Krishna Kashyap, MATAJI of Punyadham Ashram for establishing and successfully managing one of the finest assisted living
facility for senior citizens at Undri – Pisoli, Pune .
Mr.Vijay Phalnikar,chairman "Vaibhav memorial Trust" ,Pune  for setting to rehabitate destitute children and senior citizens.
Padmashree Niranjan Pandya ,President Shree Shirdi Saibaba Ashram rehabiting for visually impaired old woman in Pune.
Dr.Suresh Patankar ,Chairman, Arogya Seva mwedical acadamy of India for providing medical help to poor senior citizens coming
from rural area.
NRIPO observed ‘Shahid Day’, to pay homage to valiant soldiers and officers who lost their lives while fighting terrorists in their attack on Mumbai.
Key note speakers on NRIPO’s Foundation Day Celebrations included eminent personalities in the fields of Science & Technology, Industry,Education, Banking, including Dr. H.V.Sardesai, an eminent physician in Pune, Dr. Raghunath Mashelkar, renowned scientist,
late Dr. V.G. Bhide, and Dr. Arun Nigavakar - Vice Chancellors of Pune University, Dr. Anil Kakodkar, Chairman, Atomic Energy Commission, Mr. Kishor Chaukar, MD , Tata Industries, Dr. Kiran Karnik, President NASCOM; and others.
International Herald Tribune represented by Ms. Amelia Gentleman interviews NRIPO office bearers and members and gives full coverage and publicity to NRIPO’s Aims and Activities as also the good and noble work undertaken by it all through Europe and USA.
B.B.C.WORLD selects NRIPO as one among sixty organisations which did pioneering work in the post independence era in India and telecasts a documentary covering, among other organisations, NRIPO’s activities and releases through ‘Discovery Channel’.
NRIPO enters in to a Memorandum of Understanding with the association of Brihan Maharashtra Mandals in USA & Canada represented by its President Mr.Girish Thakar, for exchange of assistance on reciprocal basis to serve commonality of interests of NRIs & their parents in Pune.